WTF?!

WTF History Lesson #808: The Hell-Fire Orgy Cave

A visit to a National Trust property has become one of those things British families do on long summer days, during half-term, or when the relatives

0 comments
WTF?!

Ask Abi: Coming Out for the Holidays

Dear Abi,
I’m a first-year student at a British university. I think I’ve known I was gay for years, but it wasn’t till I started uni this

0 comments
WTF?!

WTF History Lesson #707: London Red Light District

England's capital is full of historical surprises around every corner and the London red light district is no different. Many upscale places today,

0 comments

WTF?

WTF History Lesson #808: The Hell-Fire Orgy Cave

A visit to a National Trust property has become one of those things British families do on long summer days, during half-term, or when the relatives come to visit from Canada. Look at some paintings! Stroll around the garden! Buy fudge in the gift shop! Visit the orgy cave!
Wait... WTF?!

WTF History Lesson #808:
The Hell-Fire Club Orgy Cave
Now, technically the orgy cave isn't part of the National Trust property, and technically it might not have been much of an orgy cave, but the story behind it is an interesting one. I'm talking, of course, about the so-called Hell-Fire Caves in West Wycombe. This artificial system of caverns, fronted by an entrance built to look like a Gothic church, is a popular tourist attraction because of its association with the infamous “Hell-Fire Club,” a secret society said to have engaged in orgies and black magic there.